Sunday, January 6, 2013

Epiphany, Cuddle Up Day, Smith Day, more

January 6th, 2013, is Epiphany, Twelfth Day, Three Kings Day, El Dia de los Tres Reyes, La Fiesta de Reyes, El de los Reyes Magos, Dreikonigendag, Race of the Three Kings, Cuddle Up Day, National Smith Day, World Day for War Orphans, Army Day (Iraq), National Bean Day, and National Shortbread Day.

Epiphany celebrates the three wise men and their visit with baby Jesus; the day also marks the end of the Christmas season. Some choose to celebrate the holiday on the Sunday following, when it falls on some other day. Epiphany goes by many other names, including Twelfth Day,Three Kings Day, El Dia de los Tres Reyes, La Fiesta de Reyes, El de los Reyes Magos, and Dreikonigendag.

The Race of the Three Kings in San Pablo, Peru, determines the fate of the village for the coming year. Depending on which king wins, the village will win a year of good harvests, a good year for animals and pasture, or simply money.

Cuddle Up Day is a time to, well, cuddle up. What more is there to say?

National Smith Day honors everyone named Smith. January 6th is the birth date of Captain John Smith, who helped settle the colony at Jamestown, Virginia.

On World Day for War Orphans, consider the horrible price paid by children around the world in times of war, when parents become casualties and children face a sad and uncertain future.

Iraq observes Army Day on January 6th.

National Bean Day is the perfect opportunity to prepare a huge pot of chili or bean soup.

On National Shortbread Day, enjoy a delicious, sweet, crumbly, classic cookie.

Click to view all blog posts!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Holiday Whiz readers are from:

Albania, Algeria, Anguilla, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus. Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guam, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia [FYROM], Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, U.S. Virgin Islands, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia

If you're from somewhere else, please say "Hello" in the Comments!