Thursday, December 26, 2013

Kwanzaa, Boxing Day, Thank-You Note Day, more

December 26th, 2013, is Kwanzaa, Boxing Day, National Whiners Day, National Thank-You Note Day, National Coffee Percolator Day, and Candy Cane Day.

Kwanzaa is celebrated from December 26th to January 1st by many African-Americans. Kwanzaa means "first fruits of the harvest" in the Kishahili language. The principles of Kwanzaa are unity, self-determination, collective work and responsibility, cooperative economics, purpose, creativity, and faith.

Boxing Day is a British tradition, observed on the day after Christmas or the first weekday after Christmas. Alms boxes were placed in churches on December 25th, then those boxes were opened for the poor on Boxing Day. Employers also gave boxes to employees who had to work on Christmas. Many celebrate the holiday today with gifts to employees and visiting tradespeople such as paper boys or milk men. Talk show host Craig Ferguson says the day is called Boxing Day because people fight each other.

The ungrateful among us may choose to celebrate National Whiners Day on the day after Christmas. Just remember - Santa may be watching.

The gracious and grateful among us will celebrate National Thank-You Note Day today.

National Coffee Percolator Day honors an old-school method for making coffee. My parents used to bring out their giant 20-cup percolator during the holidays.

Candy Cane Day celebrates an iconic part of Christmas festivities, in terms of both food and decor.

Click to view all blog posts!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Holiday Whiz readers are from:

Albania, Algeria, Anguilla, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus. Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guam, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia [FYROM], Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, U.S. Virgin Islands, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia

If you're from somewhere else, please say "Hello" in the Comments!