Monday, December 17, 2012

Talk with a Fake British Accent Day, Reconciliation Day, more

December 17th, 2012, is National Talk with a Fake British Accent Day, Wright Brothers Day, Pan American Aviation Day, Reconciliation Day, and Maple Syrup Day.

Blimey! Today is International Talk with a Fake British Accent Day. 'ave you 'eard of it? Jolly good. This colourful day was founded by Big Apple Brits - blokes and birds with real British accents living in New York City. Try out your accent - it's a doddle!

Wright Brothers Day commemorates the first successful heavier-than-air flight by Orville and Wilbur, back in 1903, near Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.

Continuing in the aviation vein, today is Pan American Aviation Day, celebrating the importance of air travel in the Western Hemisphere.

Day of Reconciliation has been celebrated on December 16th - or the Monday after if the 16th falls on a weekend - every year in South Africa since the end of Apartheid in 1994. The holiday is a time for ethnic groups to come together in peace and harmony. Under Apartheid, December 16th was known as Day of the Vow, Day of the Covenant, or Dingaan Day. Apartheid comes from the Afrikaans words "apart" and "heid," meaning "aparthood."

On Maple Syrup Day, don't use the fake stuff! Enjoy your pancakes, waffles, or other breakfast treats with real maple syrup. Or add maple syrup to your dinner repertoire with these recipes.

Click to view all blog posts!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Holiday Whiz readers are from:

Albania, Algeria, Anguilla, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus. Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guam, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia [FYROM], Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, U.S. Virgin Islands, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia

If you're from somewhere else, please say "Hello" in the Comments!